A Christmas Carol was written by Charles Dickens, and first published by Chapman & Hall on 19 December 1843. Now, 168 years later it seems the only difference in our society is that we have so many more Scrooges. Sorry to be dark and negative, but everywhere I look these days miserly activities are far worse. Ebenezer remarked about the poor, “If they would rather die they had better do it, and decrease the surplus population.” I can’t help but notice that same attitude prevails today.

I chose to illustrate this scene when Bob Cratchit asks for Christmas day off to spend with his family, and Scrooge only allows it because no other businesses will be open. I was struck by how even today we work and work, but if we don’t get to enjoy quality time with our loved ones than what is it all for? Is this the life we want for everyone when our world is filled with such abundance?

While researching this story I recorded Disney’s Christmas Carol thinking it would be the great version with the mouse, but instead it was that freaky one with the animation that tries too hard to be too realistic. I found it to be unwatchable. Then, I found the wonderful Muppet version, and was much more inspired. I even watched The Flinstones’ version and the George C. Scott movie was very good. Dr. Who had a fantastic Christmas Carol episode last year.

It’s been so fun seeing what our blog members have turned out for this topic! Check out the wonderful illustrations by Jill, Tina, and Brooke that have already posted.